Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Prophecies Concerning the Crucifixion and Resurrection of Christ

Anastasi

The Holy Scriptures describe the passion and death of Jesus Christ. Specifically, they predicted the following:

That He would be betrayed by His disciple: “He who ate of my bread, hath magnified the lifting of heels against me” (Ps. 40:10).

That the gentiles and the archpriests would plot against Him:

“Why have the heathen raged, and the peoples meditated empty things? The kings of the earth were aroused, and the rulers were assembled together against the Lord and against His Christ” (Ps. 2:1-2).

That unjust witnesses would bear false testimony against Him:

“Unjust witnesses rose up against me; things I knew not they asked me. They repaid me with evil things instead of good” (Ps. 34:13).

That He would be sold for thirty pieces of silver: “So they weighed for my price thirty pieces of silver” (Zch. 11:12).

That the silver would be used to purchase the field of the potter:

“And the Lord said unto me, ‘Cast it unto the potter’—a goodly price that I was prized at by them. And I took the thirty pieces of silver, and cast them to the potter in the house of the Lord” (Zch. 11:13).

That He would be bound with fetters: “Woe to their soul, for they have devised an evil counsel against themselves, saying against themselves: Let us bind the just one” (Isa. 3:10).

That He would remain silent before Pilate: “But as for me, like a deaf man I heard them not, and was as a speechless man that openeth not his mouth. And I became as a man that heareth not, and that hath in his mouth no reproofs” (Ps. 37:14-15). “He was led as a sheep to the slaughter, and as a lamb before the shearer is dumb, so he opens not his mouth” (Isa. 53:7).

That He would be whipped, slapped, spat upon, and ridiculed: “I gave my back to scourges, and my cheeks to blows, and I turned not away my face from the shame of spitting” (Isa. 50:6). “For I am ready for scourges, and my sorrow is continually before me” (Ps. 37:17).

That His disciples would abandon Him: “And I waited for one that would grieve with me, but there was no one; and for them that would comfort me, but I found none” (Ps. 68:25). “I will strike the Shepherd, and the sheep of the flock will be scattered” (Zch. 13:7).

That the soldiers would make fun of Him: “And they prated against me, they that sit in the gates; and they made a song about me, they that drink wine” (Ps. 68:15).

That He would be crowned with a wreath of thorns: “Go forth, ye daughters of Zion, and behold…the crown wherewith his mother crowned him” (Sol. 3:11).

That He would carry the Cross on His shoulders: “For a child is born to us, and a son is given to us, whose government is upon his shoulder” (Isa. 9:6).

That He would suffer for us: “He was a man in suffering, and acquainted with the bearing of sickness, for his face is turned from us: he was dishonored and not esteemed. He bears our sins and is pained for us: ye we accounted him to be in trouble, and in suffering, and in affliction. But he was wounded on account of our sins, and was bruised because of our iniquities…and by his bruises we were healed” (Isa. 53:3-12).

That He would die for the sins of the world: “Because of the iniquities of My people, He was led to death” (Isa. 53:8). “And he bore the sins of many, and was delivered because of their iniquities” (Isa. 53:12).

That He would be crucified on the Cross: “They plotted an evil device against me, saying, ‘Come, let us put wood in his bread, and destroy him root and branch from the land of the living, so his name might not be remembered any longer” (Jer. 11:18).

That He Who is crucified is the Life; but the Jews will not believe:

“And thy life shall be hanging before thine eyes; and thou shalt be afraid by day and by night, and thou shalt not believe in thy life” (Dt. 28:66).

That He would be crucified in the middle of the earth: “But God is our king before the ages, He hath wrought salvation in the midst of the earth” (Ps. 73:13).

That He would be crucified along with the thieves: “And he was numbered among the transgressors” (Isa. 53:12).

That His hands and feet would be nailed: “They have pierced my hands and my feet. They have numbered all my bones” (Ps. 21:16). “And I will say to him, What are these wounds between thine hands? Those with which I was wounded in my beloved house” (Zch. 13:6).

That He would be mocked while on the Cross: “All that look upon me have laughed me to scorn; they have spoken with their lips and have wagged their heads [saying]: He hoped in the Lord; let Him deliver him, let Him save him, for He desireth him” (Ps. 21:6-8).

That they would pierce His side: “And they shall look upon Me, Whom they have pierced” (Zch. 12:10).

That water would gush forth from His holy side: “And in that day living water shall come forth out of Jerusalem” (Zch. 14:8).

That none of His bones would be broken: “They shall leave none of it until morning, nor break one of its bones” (Num. 9:12).

That He would be given vinegar mixed with gall to drink: “And they gave me gall for food, and for my thirst they gave me vinegar to drink” (Ps. 68:26).

That His clothes would be distributed and His garments parted:

“They have parted my garments amongst themselves, and for my vesture have they cast lots” (Ps. 21:18).

That there would be darkness on the earth during His crucifixion:

“And it shall come to pass in that day that there shall be no light, and there shall be for one day cold and frost, and that day shall be known to the Lord, and it shall not be day nor night: but towards evening it shall be light” (Zch. 14:6-7). “And it shall come to pass in that day, saith the Lord God, that the sun shall go down at noon, and the light shall be darkened on the earth by day” (Amos 8:9). “The sun and the moon shall be darkened, and the stars shall withdraw their light. And the Lord shall cry out of Zion, and shall utter his voice from Jerusalem; and the heaven and the earth shall be shaken” (Joel 3:15-16).

That He would descend to Hades to liberate the souls in bondage: “And the gates of death open to thee for fear; and did the porters of hell quake when they saw thee” (Job. 38:17). “Mightily leading forth them that were shackled, and likewise them that embitter Him, them that dwell in tombs” (Ps. 67:7). “Hades from below was embittered to meet you” (Isa. 14:9).

That His body would not suffer corruption: “For Thou wilt not abandon my soul in Hades, nor wilt Thou suffer Thy Holy One to see corruption” (Ps. 1:10).

That He would resurrect: “Because of the distress of the beggars and the groaning of the poor, now will I arise, saith the Lord; I will establish them in salvation, I will be manifest therein” (Ps. 11:6). “Arise, O God, judge the earth, for Thou shalt have an inheritance among all the nations” (Ps. 81:8). “Let God arise and let His enemies be scattered” (Ps. 67:1). “Arise, O Lord, into Thy rest” (Ps. 131:8). “He Who brought up from the earth the shepherd of His sheep” (Isa. 63:11). “Prepare yourself, rise early in the morning…‘On account of this, wait for Me,’ says the Lord, ‘until the day of My rising up as a testimony. For My judgment shall be for the gathering of the nations” (Zep. 3:7-8).

That He would resurrect in three days: “Let us go, and return to the Lord our God; for he has torn and will heal us; he will mite and bind us up. After two days he will heal us: in the third day we shall arise and live” (Hos. 6:1-3).

That many dead people would be resurrected: “The dead shall rise up; and those in the tombs shall arise” (Isa. 26:19). “Then you will know that I am the Lord, when I open your tombs to lead you, My people, up from their graves” (Ezk. 37:12-14).

That the myrrh-bearing women would visit His tomb: “Come hither, ye women that come from a sight; for it is a people of no understanding” (Isa. 27:11).

The above prophecies were written well over seven hundred years prior to the age of Christianity. Remarkably, however, the prophets described the events as if they were recording history from the base of the Cross. The circumstances surrounding the crucifixion and resurrection of Christ were not only foretold, but they are also documented, historical facts. The fulfillment of these Jewish Scriptural prophecies alone serve as unequivocal testimony that the God-man Jesus Christ was the awaited Messiah, Who suffered for man, in order to save him and grant him eternal life. 

(SOURCE)

Christ_Panselinos