Tags

, , , , ,

Elder Sophrony’s

Prayer at Daybreak

to be said each day on rising from sleep

Eternal King without beginning, Thou who art before all ages, my Maker, Who hast summoned all things from non-being into this life: bless this day that Thou, in Thine inscrutable goodness, hast given me. By the power of Thy blessing enable me at all times in this coming day to speak and act for Thee, to Thy glory, in Thy fear, according to Thy will, with a pure spirit, with humility, patience, love, gentleness, peace, courage, wisdom and prayer, aware everywhere of Thy presence.

Yes, Lord, in Thine immense mercy, lead me by Thine All-Holy Spirit into every good work and word, and grant me to walk all my life long in Thy sight without stumbling, according to Thy righteousness that Thou hast revealed to us, that I may not add to my transgressions.

O Lord, great in mercy, spare me who am perishing in wickedness; do not hide Thy face from me. And when my perverted will would lead me down other paths, do not forsake me, my Savior, but force me back to Thy holy path.

O Thou Who art good, to Whom all hearts are open, Thou knowest my poverty and my foolishness, my blindness and my uselessness, but the sufferings of my soul are also before Thee. Wherefore I beseech Thee: hear me in my affliction and fill me with Thy strength from above. Raise me up who am paralyzed with sin, and deliver me who am enslaved to the passions. Heal me from every hidden wound. Purify me from all taint of flesh and spirit. Preserve me from every inward and outward impulse that is unpleasing in Thy sight and hurtful to my brother.

I beseech Thee: establish me in the path of Thy commandments and to my last breath do not let me stray from the light of Thine ordinances, so that Thy commandments may become the sole law of my being in this life and in all eternity.

O God, my God, I plead with Thee for many and great things: do not disregard me. Do not cast me away from Thy presence because of my presumption and boldness, but by the ill. Grant me to love Thee as Thou hast commanded, with all my heart, and with all my soul, and with all my reason, and with all my strength: with my whole being.

For Thou alone are the holy protection and all-powerful defender of my life, and to Thee I ascribe glory and offer my prayer.

Grant me to know Thy truth before I depart this life. Maintain my life in this world until I may offer Thee true repentance. Do not take me away in the midst of my days, and when Thou art pleased to bring my life to an end, forewarn me of my death, so that I may prepare my soul to come before Thee.

Be with me then, O Lord, on my great and sacred day, and grant me the joy of Thy salvation. Cleanse me from manifest and secret sins, from all iniquity hidden in me; and give me a right answer before Thy dread judgment-seat. Amen.

+++